Skip navigation | Using this site and Access Key information | Sitemap

A luxury boutique hotel in the heart of ancient Marrakech

HOTEL SPA - LES BORJS DE LA KASBAH - Marrakech Hotel
The Historic City Wall

Météo à Marrakech

Demain
 sunny intervals
Aujourd'hui
 clear sky

Vérifiez la disponibilité

Bab Agnaou, porte principale de la Kasbah Ruines du palais El Badi Main kasbah mosque

Bref Historique de Marrakech

La ville impériale de Marrakech fut fondée en 1062 par le Sultan Youssef ben Tachfine à qui revient le mérite de la construction des remparts de défense entourant la ville. Rallongés de 19 km pendant les dynasties des Almohades et des Saâdiens, les superbes remparts, dont la couleur varie entre le rose et le rouge, sont ponctués par 200 tours carrés (borjs) et neuf portes monumentales. La prospérité de Marrakech à cette époque en fit la capitale d’un empire allant d’Alger à l’Atlantique et de la Méditerranée presque jusqu’au Sénégal.

Après 400 années de dynasties berbères émanant des tribus d’origine des montagnes de l’Atlas (les Almoravides, Almohades et Mérinides qui furent au pouvoir jusqu’en 1465) le 16e siècle vu l’arrivée au pouvoir des arabes. Les riches Saâdiens (1554 - 1603) furent responsables pour l’unification du Maroc. En 1659 les Alaouites arrivèrent au trône (occupé de 1672 à 1727 par Moulay Ismaïl, le plus connu de tous les sultans) et dirigent toujours le pays à ce jour.

Un des sites le plus représentatif à Marrakech de cette période d’histoire marocaine se trouve dans la Kasbah. Dans un petit jardin, les tombes du 16e siècle de la dynastie des Saâdiens sont parmi les meilleurs exemples d’art islamique, spécialement grâce aux décorations compliquées en stucco et les plafonds en cèdres du mausolée.

En 1912 le traité de Fès reconnu le Maroc comme étant un protectorat français sous la souveraineté du sultan. Pendant les 40 années qui suivirent le pays vit un progrès économique important grâce au développement par les français des infrastructures ferroviaires et routières, l’introduction de centrales hydro-électriques, de systèmes d’irrigation et l’introduction de l’éducation nationale. Le quartier commercial et résidentiel de Guéliz, fut complété peu de temps avant que le Maroc ne redeviennent indépendant en 1956.

Visiter Marrakech et sa région

Cliquez sur 'Services', puis 'Excursions' pour afficher la liste de nos propres excursions autour de Marrakech même et au-delà, y compris plusieurs sorties vers l'Atlas et plus loin, jusqu’à la limite du Sahara et, à l'Ouest, vers la côte atlantique à Essaouira

Skip navigation | Using this site and Access Key information | Sitemap

A luxury boutique hotel in the heart of ancient Marrakech

The Historic City Wall

Weather in Marrakech

Tomorrow
 light rain shower
Today
 light rain

Check Availability

Bab Agnaou, the kasbah's main gate Ruins of the El Badi Palace Main kasbah mosque

A brief History of Marrakech

The imperial city of Marrakech was founded in 1062 by Sultan Youssef ben Tachfine who is credited with construction of the defensive walls that encircle the city. Extended to 19 kms during the dynasties of the Almohades and Saadiens, the spectacular city walls, varying in colour between pink and red, are punctuated by 200 square towers (borjs) and nine monumental gates. The prosperity of Marrakech at this time made it a fitting capital for an empire which stretched from Algiers to the Atlantic and from the Mediterranean almost to Senegal.

Following 400 years of berber dynasties emanating from the indigenous tribes of the Atlas mountains (the Almoravides, Almohades and Merinides, who ruled until 1465), the 16 th century saw the arrival of rulers of Arabic origin. The wealthy Saadiens (1554-1603) were responsible for unifying Morocco as one country. In 1659 the Alouites came to the throne (occupied from 1672-1727 by Moulay Ismail, the most famous of all the sultans) and still rule Morocco today.

One of the most notable sites in Marrakech from this period of Moroccan history is found in the Kasbah. Set in a small garden, the16th century dynastic tombs of the Saadiens are among the finest examples of Islamic art, not least for the intricate stucco decoration and cedar ceilings of the mausoleum.

In 1912 the Treaty of Fes recognised Morocco as a French Protectorate under the notional sovereignty of the sultan. During the next 40 years the country made significant economic progress thanks to development by the French of rail and road infrastructure and the introduction of hydro-electrical installations, irrigation systems and national education. The modern commercial and residential quarter of Guéliz, outside the Marrakech medina, was completed shortly before Morocco became a fully independent country once more in 1956.

See our BLOG for more items of interest about Marrakech

The BK BLOG contains details about What's on in Marrakech as well as more information about the city itself and items of practical information, especially useful to first time visitors. Click on Blog on the main menu, above.