Skip navigation | Using this site and Access Key information | Sitemap

A luxury boutique hotel in the heart of ancient Marrakech

HOTEL SPA - LES BORJS DE LA KASBAH - Marrakech Hotel
The Historic City Wall

Wetter in Marrakesch

Morgen
 light rain shower
Heute
 sunny

Überprüfen Sie Verwendbarkeit

Bab Agnaou, the kasbah's main gate Ruins of the El Badi Palace Main kasbah mosque

Die Geschichte von Marrakesch

Die Königsstadt Marrakesch wurde 1062 von Sultan Yusuf ibn Taschfin gegründet, dem auch der Bau der Verteidigungsmauern zugeschrieben wird, die die Stadt umgeben. Die spektakulären Stadtmauern wurden unter der Herrschaft der Almohaden und der Saaditen auf 19 km ausgebaut; ihre Farbe variiert zwischen rosa und rot, sie sind mit 200 quadratischen Türmen (Borjs) und neun monumentalen Toren ausgestattet. Zu jener Zeit war Marrakesch eine Stadt von immensem Reichtum – und damit eine angemessene Hauptstadt für ein Reich, das sich von Algier bis zum Atlantik und vom Mittelmeer bis fast in den Senegal erstreckte. 

Nachdem die Stadt 400 Jahre lang von Berber-Dynastien regiert worden war, die den eingeborenen Stämmen des Atlas entstammten (die Almoraviden, Almohaden und Meriniden, die bis 1465 herrschten), übernahmen im 16. Jahrhundert Herrscher arabischer Herkunft die Macht. Die wohlhabenden Saaditen (1554–1603) vereinigten Marokko zu einer Nation. Im Jahr 1659 bestiegen die Alouiten den Thron (von 1672–1727 herrschte Moulay Ismail, der berühmteste aller Sultane) – diese Dynastie regiert Marokko noch heute. 

Eine der bemerkenswertesten Sehenswürdigkeiten in Marrakesch aus dieser Zeit der marokkanischen Geschichte befindet sich in der Kasbah. In einem kleinen Garten liegen die Gräber der Saaditen-Dynastie aus dem 16. Jahrhundert – eines der schönsten Beispiele islamischer Kunst, nicht zuletzt wegen der komplexen Stuckverzierungen und der Zedernholzdecken des Mausoleums. 

1912 wurde Marokko durch den Vertrag von Fes zum französischen Protektorat, unter der nominalen Souveränität des Sultans. In den nächsten 40 Jahren machte das Land erhebliche wirtschaftliche Fortschritte, dank der Entwicklung des Eisenbahn- und Straßennetzes durch die Franzosen und die Einführung von Wasserkraftanlagen, Beregnungssystemen und einem nationalen Bildungswesen. Das moderne Handels- und Wohnviertel Guéliz, außerhalb der Medina von Marrakesch, wurde fertiggestellt, kurz bevor Marokko 1956 die volle Unabhängigkeit zurückerlangte.

See our BLOG for more items of interest about Marrakech

The BK BLOG contains details about What's on in Marrakech as well as more information about the history of Marrakech, the city itself and items of practical information, especially useful to first time visitors. Click on Blog on the main menu, above.

Skip navigation | Using this site and Access Key information | Sitemap

A luxury boutique hotel in the heart of ancient Marrakech

The Historic City Wall

Weather in Marrakech

Tomorrow
 light rain shower
Today
 light rain

Check Availability

Bab Agnaou, the kasbah's main gate Ruins of the El Badi Palace Main kasbah mosque

A brief History of Marrakech

The imperial city of Marrakech was founded in 1062 by Sultan Youssef ben Tachfine who is credited with construction of the defensive walls that encircle the city. Extended to 19 kms during the dynasties of the Almohades and Saadiens, the spectacular city walls, varying in colour between pink and red, are punctuated by 200 square towers (borjs) and nine monumental gates. The prosperity of Marrakech at this time made it a fitting capital for an empire which stretched from Algiers to the Atlantic and from the Mediterranean almost to Senegal.

Following 400 years of berber dynasties emanating from the indigenous tribes of the Atlas mountains (the Almoravides, Almohades and Merinides, who ruled until 1465), the 16 th century saw the arrival of rulers of Arabic origin. The wealthy Saadiens (1554-1603) were responsible for unifying Morocco as one country. In 1659 the Alouites came to the throne (occupied from 1672-1727 by Moulay Ismail, the most famous of all the sultans) and still rule Morocco today.

One of the most notable sites in Marrakech from this period of Moroccan history is found in the Kasbah. Set in a small garden, the16th century dynastic tombs of the Saadiens are among the finest examples of Islamic art, not least for the intricate stucco decoration and cedar ceilings of the mausoleum.

In 1912 the Treaty of Fes recognised Morocco as a French Protectorate under the notional sovereignty of the sultan. During the next 40 years the country made significant economic progress thanks to development by the French of rail and road infrastructure and the introduction of hydro-electrical installations, irrigation systems and national education. The modern commercial and residential quarter of Guéliz, outside the Marrakech medina, was completed shortly before Morocco became a fully independent country once more in 1956.

See our BLOG for more items of interest about Marrakech

The BK BLOG contains details about What's on in Marrakech as well as more information about the city itself and items of practical information, especially useful to first time visitors. Click on Blog on the main menu, above.