Skip navigation | Using this site and Access Key information | Sitemap

A luxury boutique hotel in the heart of ancient Marrakech

Météo à Marrakech

Demain
 light rain shower
Aujourd'hui
 light rain

Vérifiez la disponibilité

La Création des Borjs de la Kasbah

En 2002, un couple franco-britannique, Mike et Françoise Bruce-Mitford, après une carrière de tour opérateurs en Grande-Bretagne, découvrent, et tombent amoureux, d’un petit riad qu’ils décident de restaurer et de transformer en maison d’hôtes. Quelques années plus tard, pour des raisons trop compliquées à détailler ici!, un projet un peu plus ambitieux a pris forme, à savoir, la création d'un petit hôtel de charme.

Ce que nous avons aujourd'hui est, essentiellement, un ensemble reconstruit sur le site de sept propriétés antérieures. Pratiquement tous les murs d'origine de boue et de pierres ont été repris selon les normes de construction moderne, mais les volumes de  quatre patios initiaux  ont été respectés. Créé entièrement par des artisans locaux, l'hôtel a été conçu afin de refléter le style architectural traditionnel d'un riad marocain dans lequel symétrie géométrique, décoration complexe de stuc, ferronnerie forgée, carrelages colorés (bejmat) et revêtement mural en tadelakt (plâtre à base de chaux teinté dans des tons chauds et ensuite ciré) occupent une place importante. 

 Les travaux de réaménagement ont débuté en mars 2004 et l'hôtel a officiellement ouvert ses portes en décembre 2006, la phase finale vit le jour en juillet 2007 avec l'ouverture de l'Espace Détente avec piscine, snack et spa.

 Les Borjs de la Kasbah est un hommage au talent d'un jeune architecte marocain, Moulay Hicham Charai, dont l’interprétation de la vision des propriétaires a entraîné un mariage réussi entre le traditionnel et le moderne. Moulay Hicham a été également requis pour superviser l'ensemble du projet depuis la planche à dessin à l'ouverture officielle.

Hotel Layout

Click on the images below to explore the hotel floor plans.

GROUND FLOOR / REZ-DE-CHAUSSÉE1st FLOOR / 1ere ETAGE

Skip navigation | Using this site and Access Key information | Sitemap

A luxury boutique hotel in the heart of ancient Marrakech

Weather in Marrakech

Tomorrow
 light rain shower
Today
 light rain

Check Availability

Creating Les Borjs de la Kasbah

In 2002, Anglo-French couple Mike and Francoise Bruce-Mitford, after a career as tour operators in Britain, discovered, and fell in love with, a small riad which they decided to refurbish and let as a guest house. A couple of years later, for reasons too complicated to detail here!, a rather more ambitious project took shape, namely, the creation of a small boutique hotel, or hotel de charme.

What we have today is, essentially, a newly-constructed ensemble on the site of seven earlier properties. Virtually all the original walls of mud and stone have been rebuilt to modern construction standards but the volumes of the original four patios have been respected. Created entirely by local craftsmen, the hotel has been designed to reflect the traditional architectural style of a Moroccan riad in which geometric symmetry, intricate plaster decoration, wrought ironwork, colourful floor tiles (bejmat) and tadelakt wall coatings (polished lime-based plaster tinted in warm shades) feature prominently.

Redevelopment work began in March 2004 and the hotel opened its doors officially in December 2006, the final phase reaching completion in July 2007 with the opening of the Leisure Area, housing the pool, poolside bar and spa.

Les Borjs de la Kasbah is tribute to the talent of a young Moroccan architect, Moulay Hicham Charai, whose interpretation of the owners' vision has resulted in a successful marriage between traditional and modern. Moulay Hicham was also required to oversee the entire project from drawing board to official opening.

Hotel Layout

Click on the images below to explore the hotel floor plans.

GROUND FLOOR / REZ-DE-CHAUSSÉE1st FLOOR / 1ere ETAGE