Skip navigation | Using this site and Access Key information | Sitemap

A luxury boutique hotel in the heart of ancient Marrakech

HOTEL SPA - LES BORJS DE LA KASBAH - Marrakech Hotel

Wetter in Marrakesch

Morgen
 sunny intervals
Heute
 light cloud

Überprüfen Sie Verwendbarkeit

Entstehung des Les Borjs de la Kasbah

2002 entdeckte das anglo-französische Ehepaar Mike und Francoise Bruce-Mitford nach einer Karriere als Reiseveranstalter in Großbritannien ein kleines Riad, in das die beiden sich sofort verliebten. Sie beschlossen, es zu renovieren und als Gästehaus zu vermieten.Ein paar Jahre später - aus Gründen, die zu kompliziert sind, um sie hier genauer anzuführen -, nahm ein weitaus ehrgeizigeres Projekt Gestalt an: die Schaffung eines kleinen Boutique-Hotels oder Hôtel de Charme.

 Was wir heute sehen, ist ein neu erbauter Komplex aus ehemals sieben verschiedenen Gebäuden.Praktisch alle ursprünglichen Wände aus Lehm und Stein wurden gemäß modernen Konstruktionsstandards neu errichtet, doch die Ausmaße der ursprünglichen vier Innenhöfe blieben gewahrt.Das ausschließlich von örtlichen Handwerkern geschaffene Hotel reflektiert in seinem Design den traditionellen Architekturstil eines marokkanischen Riad, in dem geometrische Symmetrie, kunstvolle Gipsverzierungen, Arbeiten aus Schmiedeeisen, farbenfrohe Bodenfliesen (Bejmat) und Wandbeschichtungen aus Tadelakt (einem polierten Verputz auf Kalkbasis in warmen Farbtönen) die wesentlichen Elemente bilden.

 Die Umbauarbeiten begannen im März 2004, und das Hotel öffnete seine Tore offiziell im Dezember 2006. Die letzte Phase wurde im Juli 2007 mit der Eröffnung des Freizeitbereichs abgeschlossen, der einen Swimmingpool, eine Poolbar und ein Wellnessbad bietet.

 Seinen besonderen Charme verdankt dasLes Borjs de la Kasbahdem Talent eines jungen marokkanischen Architekten, Moulay Hicham Charai, dem es gelungen ist, die Vision der Hotelbesitzer in eine gelungene Mischung von Tradition und Moderne umzusetzen. Moulay Hicham hat überdies das gesamte Projekt überwacht, vom Reißbrett bis zur offiziellen Eröffnung.

Hotel Layout

Click on the images below to explore the hotel floor plans.

GROUND FLOOR / REZ-DE-CHAUSSÉE1st FLOOR / 1ere ETAGE

Skip navigation | Using this site and Access Key information | Sitemap

A luxury boutique hotel in the heart of ancient Marrakech

Weather in Marrakech

Tomorrow
 light rain shower
Today
 light rain

Check Availability

Creating Les Borjs de la Kasbah

In 2002, Anglo-French couple Mike and Francoise Bruce-Mitford, after a career as tour operators in Britain, discovered, and fell in love with, a small riad which they decided to refurbish and let as a guest house. A couple of years later, for reasons too complicated to detail here!, a rather more ambitious project took shape, namely, the creation of a small boutique hotel, or hotel de charme.

What we have today is, essentially, a newly-constructed ensemble on the site of seven earlier properties. Virtually all the original walls of mud and stone have been rebuilt to modern construction standards but the volumes of the original four patios have been respected. Created entirely by local craftsmen, the hotel has been designed to reflect the traditional architectural style of a Moroccan riad in which geometric symmetry, intricate plaster decoration, wrought ironwork, colourful floor tiles (bejmat) and tadelakt wall coatings (polished lime-based plaster tinted in warm shades) feature prominently.

Redevelopment work began in March 2004 and the hotel opened its doors officially in December 2006, the final phase reaching completion in July 2007 with the opening of the Leisure Area, housing the pool, poolside bar and spa.

Les Borjs de la Kasbah is tribute to the talent of a young Moroccan architect, Moulay Hicham Charai, whose interpretation of the owners' vision has resulted in a successful marriage between traditional and modern. Moulay Hicham was also required to oversee the entire project from drawing board to official opening.

Hotel Layout

Click on the images below to explore the hotel floor plans.

GROUND FLOOR / REZ-DE-CHAUSSÉE1st FLOOR / 1ere ETAGE