The Formula-E championship 2019

Followers of the BK Blog will be aware that the second event in the 13-fixture calendar of the Formula-E championship for electric racing cars took place in Marrakech in January.

Capable of around 175 mph, each formula-E car is fitted with a 385 kg lithium-ion battery with sufficient energy storage to cover the full distance of each 45-minute race. Underlying the championship’s claim to be ‘the future of racing’, the race series has attracted many of the top names in motor sport, the eleven teams and twenty-two drivers representing BMW, Mercedes, Audi, Nissan and Jaguar.

Other venues in the race series include Hong Kong, Paris, Rome, Berlin and New York. The Marrakech event, the second in the series, was won by Edoardo Mortara of Switzerland followed, less than a second behind, by the Brazilian Lucas Di Grassi.

There were three British drivers in the top 10, including the current champion, Sam Bird.